Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Guinness Ice Cream


Danielle F. sent me this recipe. She says, "I'm not a vegan, and frankly, I know nothing about it, but I have a friend who is lactose intolerant, and I found this recipe for Guinness ice cream that I wanted to try but wanted her to be able to eat, so I adapted it using your website and recipes. Thought I'd share. I realized afterwards that Guinness is actually a genius choice for vegan ice cream because it already has a creamy flavor."

I use arrowroot powder to thicken my ice creams, but Danielle skipped the arrowroot altogether, so I'll leave it out of the recipe, as well. Here's Danielle's awesome creation:

2 c. soy creamer (or other non-dairy milk)
1 c. soy milk (or other non-dairy milk)
12 oz. Guinness
3/4 c. sugar

Whisk ingredients together by hand. For best results, chill before freezing. Then freeze according to your ice cream maker's directions. Enjoy! Raise a scoop in honor of Danielle!

Danielle notes that this recipe made more liquid than her ice cream maker could handle in one freezing cycle. So you can either scale back the amounts, or freeze in batches. Don't overfill the ice cream maker. It makes the baby Jesus cry.

9 comments:

  1. Wow, I've never heard of such a thing, but I'll be damned if I wouldn't try that in a heart beat! I need an ice cream maker...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Guinness + Ice Cream = Heaven! But I've stayed away from the big G in recent months because I didn't think it was vegan due to the use of isinglass to remove yeast from the stout? Please correct me if I'm wrong! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. It sounds divine, but Guinness isn't vegan, they use isinglass to refine it. As an Irish vegan this was very close to my heart and I emailed them to ask. Very sad day when I got the reply :(

    ReplyDelete
  4. Looks delicious. Something that I will likely try as soon as the weather gets a little warmer.

    Though, a warning, Guinness isn't vegan in most parts of the world. I imagine any dark stout will do. I might try it with a chocolate stout. Yum!

    ReplyDelete
  5. In the UK, beer is commonly fined using isinglass. Guinness is not suitable for vegans.
    I believe there's some that is OK, I want to say the Extra Stout in America, but most of it is not.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I thought Guineness used isinglass, which is not vegan.

    ReplyDelete
  7. My two cents on the "vegan" issue--

    I don't personally worry about minor "impurities" like the possibility of bone char refined sugar or isinglass in beer or wine. I don't want to give anyone the idea that all vegans have to worry about hidden ingredients or contact the company of every company from whom they purchase products.

    However, if you don't want to use Guinness, I'm sure you can find a substitute beer.

    Also, I highly recommend checking out this essay from Vegan Outreach.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I received the following from a reader. She contacted Guinness about the isinglass question. Looks like Guinness extra stout is free of isinglass. Here's what Guinness said:

    Thank you for taking time to contact Guinness. We appreciate hearing from our consumers because your feedback is important.

    In reference to your inquiry, isinglass, a fish product, is used during the clarification process as a magnet to get rid of excess yeast in Guinness Draught. To the strict Vegan, this would be an animal product and unsuitable. However, the same process is not used to produce Guinness extra stout, and this product is considered to be vegan. I hope this helps. Once again, thank you for contacting us.

    Sincerely
    Scott Alcorn
    Guinness Consumer Representative

    ReplyDelete